Home » How To Delete or Deactivate LinkedIn Account Temporarily?

How To Delete or Deactivate LinkedIn Account Temporarily?

by Julia
deactivate linkedin

If you no longer use an online service, it’s a good idea to delete or deactivate LinkedIn. This is safer and more secure than letting it sit there unused. Thankfully, you can learn how to deactivate LinkedIn or delete your LinkedIn account if you’re no longer searching for a job or interested in networking. Here’s everything you need to know about deleting or how to deactivate LinkedIn. Using how to temporarily disable LinkedIn can become tiresome at times.

You might not think about taking a break from the site as much as Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter, but temporarily deactivating LinkedIn is an option if you want to. In this article, you’ll find out how to deactivate LinkedIn account and your profile on the desktop version of LinkedIn. You’ll also find out whether you can temporarily disable your account from your smartphone and if you can permanently delete your account.

How to Deactivate LinkedIn on Your Desktop

If you’re ready to cut how to deactivate your Linkedin account out of your life for a while, temporarily disabling your LinkedIn account on your desktop is a pretty straightforward process. To do so, you’ll need to follow the steps below.

Step 1: Go to LinkedIn.com and sign in to your account.

Step 2: Click on your profile picture in the upper right of your screen. The tab is called “Me.”

Step 3: Go to Settings & Privacy.

Step 4: On the next page, click on Account preferences on the upper-left side.

Step 5: Scroll down to or click on Account management.

Step 5: Scroll down to or click on Account management.

Step 6: Select Hibernate account.

Step 7: If you want to, you can tell deactivate Linkedin why you wish to deactivate. You can either add a comment or tick a box or both.

Step 8: On the next page, enter your password and click Hibernate account.

After you’ve completed these steps, your account will be deleted. You’ll have to wait 24 hours before you can reactivate your account. People won’t be able to access your profile if you deactivate it; instead, it will appear as “A LinkedIn Member.”

deactivate linkedin

Temporary disabling account:

There is another way to delete your Linkedin how to temporarily deactivate linkedin account. However, this procedure is only for erasing your Linkedin profile for a limited time. This step is only for if you want to take a break from LinkedIn but aren’t sure if you want to erase it completely or if you know you’ll need to return to how to temporarily deactivate linkedin. If you don’t want to create a new LinkedIn account every time you want to use it, this is the best alternative. To temporarily disable your profile, follow the steps below.

  • Launch any web browser and go to the LinkedIn website.
  • Log in to your how-to temporarily disable Linkedin account with your username and password.

You can temporarily disable your LinkedIn account using this method. Other LinkedIn members won’t be able to see your postings or comments. You will be identified as a member of LinkedIn. You only need to log in after you’ve made the decision to return to LinkedIn and begin using your account once more. Your account may be used regularly after you log in.

CHECKOUT: How To Download spotify++ Premium For IOS For Free (Complete Guide)

Your LinkedIn Account: Deactivating vs. Deleting

deactivate linkedin

Hibernation, restricting public exposure, and complete account deletion are the three choices LinkedIn gives for limiting or deleting your account. Hibernation is a brand-new function that has just recently been made available to a select group of users. We’ll concentrate instead on teaching you how to deactivate or delete your LinkedIn account, as not all users of the platform now have this choice.

LinkedIn now advises restricting your account’s public exposure if you don’t want to entirely delete it. This keeps users of the service who are not logged in from seeing your profile. Your profile is still accessible to LinkedIn users and is intact.

Tips to Keep in Mind Before Closing Your Account

Be mindful of the content that will be lost before permanently closing your account. The majority of the time, your account may be reopened within 14 days. However, there are some components connected to your account that cannot be recovered.

After you delete your LinkedIn account, the following will be permanently lost:

  • Every invitation
  • All recommendations and approvals
  • Participation in LinkedIn groups
  • Followings (including influencers, authority figures, companies, etc.)

Want your connection list, posts, or recommendations but not the account?

Users of LinkedIn have the option to get a copy of their data at any time, and we strongly advise doing so as a backup. You can never tell what the future will bring!

Backup of your LinkedIn data

When you download a copy of your data, you can still view the information you uploaded or your connections. You won’t be able to see a connection’s email address in your data download, though, if it is set to private. Although a copy of the data is helpful, it does not include all of your LinkedIn activity and access.

  • Get a copy of your data here:
  • Select “Settings and Privacy” from your profile by going there.
  • Select “How LinkedIn uses your data” under “Data privacy” on the left sidebar.
  • On the main screen, choose “Get a copy of your data,” which is the second option.
  • Mark the checkboxes next to the information you want to receive.
  • In 10 minutes to two days, LinkedIn will send you all the files you need.

Another choice to think about is deactivate linkedin, if you’re still concerned about losing some of your LinkedIn data.

Hibernate or Delete LinkedIn Account: What’s the Difference?

Your data is still present when you hibernate or deactivate your LinkedIn account, but it is hidden from other users. If you have made suggestions, comments, endorsements, or posts, LinkedIn will show “A LinkedIn member” and a generic icon instead of your name and picture.

Your profile won’t be viewable, and you won’t appear in any searches. When you delete or close your LinkedIn account, any information that wasn’t saved beforehand is gone for good.

After 14 days, you cannot reopen your account. You may change your LinkedIn privacy settings to limit what information LinkedIn has about you if you don’t want to delete your account. It’s simple to delete your LinkedIn account. You may wish to delete your LinkedIn account for a variety of reasons.

Deleting your account will partially address your issues if your account was stolen, you want greater online privacy, or you’re just sick of social media. But keep in mind that you won’t be able to reactivate your account at all after 14 days.

Your name may remain on search engines like Google for a little while longer. On a side note, Google really already has a lot of information on you. By “hibernating,” which is what LinkedIn calls temporarily turning off your account, you can hide your information from the internet without deleting it if you just need a break from this social media site.

Reducing the amount of information online that is available about you is always a good idea! Here’s how to entirely delete your Facebook and Reddit accounts if you want to go further.

How soon can I delete my LinkedIn profile?

You have 30 days to delete all of your personal and professional information from LinkedIn. However, unless their cache is cleaned, your profile can continue to show up in Google or other browser searches for a few days. Your relationships, posts, recommendations, endorsements, group memberships, subscriptions, and photographs will all be lost if you decide to deactivate linkedin account.

Without signing in, how can I delete my LinkedIn account?

Without first entering your email and password, you are unable to delete your LinkedIn account. If you’ve lost your login information but still want to delete your account, LinkedIn can verify your identity and let you back into your account. You may then delete your LinkedIn account from that point.

What will occur if I delete my LinkedIn account?

When you delete your account, all of your personal and professional information is taken right away from LinkedIn’s servers. After you delete your account, you won’t be able to access your connections, messages, posts, endorsements, group memberships, subscriptions, saved job searches, or images. You can ask LinkedIn for a copy of your data; we advise you to do so in case you decide to refer to certain pieces of your data from LinkedIn later. It helps if you want to make reference to prior relationships, occupations, or postings, even if not all of your information will be accessible.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

You cannot copy content of this page